Chisholm Trail Outdoor Museum – Cleburne, TX
Welcome to the Chisholm Trail Outdoor Museum. The tepees and life size cattle drive silhouettes that greet you as you enter the museum along with the “WELCOME TO CLEBURNE * ON THE CHISHOLM TRAIL” eighty foot stone wall are fast becoming one of the most recognized and photographed landmarks in this part of Texas. We offer free docent-led tours with advance notice on Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
The Williamson Museum is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation established in 1997 to collect, preserve and exhibit items relating to the rich culture and heritage of Williamson County. We offer free and exciting hands-on educational programs to the public through innovative exhibits, tours and outreach including our annual Chisholm Trail Days Event at San Gabriel Park and Pioneer Day at Old Settlers Park.
Through our extensive educational outreach programs, our goal is to preserve the unique stories of the county for both present and future generations. In addition, the Museum provides insight and accurate historical information based on first-hand sources in a variety of areas. This focus allows the Museum to effectively educate, entertain and enlighten our visitors.
Recognizing that our past profoundly influences our future the Bell County Museum collects, preserves and interprets the historic and prehistoric cultural heritage of the Bell County region, for all citizens, and provides quality traveling exhibitions for their enjoyment and education.
Established in 1991, the Bell County Museum serves the community as a vital resource for the collection, interpretation and preservation of the historical heritage of the Bell County area.
Experience the world’s only twice daily cattle drive as Fort Worth’s herd of Texas Longhorn steers are driven down the bricks of historic Exchange Avenue in the Historic Fort Worth Stockyards. The Herd is driven by authentic cowboys and cowgirls in period clothing from the era of 1865.
– See more at: http://texaslakestrail.com/plan-your-adventure/historic-sites-and-cities/sites/fort-worth-herd-cattle-drive#sthash.xaPjBhZr.dpuf
The Fort Worth Stock Yards, officially incorporated in 1893, swiftly became the epicenter of the largest livestock market in Texas, grew to be the biggest market south of Kansas City, and finally ranked among the top five nationwide for five decades. Serving as supply depot for the Chisholm Trail, the major route out of Texas for livestock, started Fort Worth on its path to Cowtown capital. But it was the arrival of the railroad and the ambition of its business leaders that drove the city’s success. Recognizing the potential, local businessmen began expanding the stockyard facilities beyond its feedlots. Diversification in Fort Worth’s livestock industry included railroad cattle terminals, meatpacking plants, grain elevators for feed, livestock-pharmaceutical manufacturers, a horse, mule, and hog market, and its expansion into sheep soon turned it into the largest sheep market in the nation. A permanent change in the nature of the livestock industry and its decentralization wouldn’t begin until the middle of the 20th century, allowing the Fort Worth Stockyards to hold on until 1992, when the market finally closed after its final livestock auction. However, rather than allowing the enterprise to go the way of other abandoned stockyards in the state, Fort Worth business leaders once again saw opportunity for growth and today a Stockyards National Historic District, with its restored mercantile buildings and network of corrals and feedlots, preserves the city’s grand past. The District covers fifteen square blocks where entertainment, restaurants, shops, a daily cattle drive, and rodeos all drive a visitor experience worthy of Texas’ Cowtown Capital.
– See more at: http://texaslakestrail.com/plan-your-adventure/historic-sites-and-cities/sites/stockyards-national-historic-district#sthash.hCLzRHnC.dpuf
The Stonewall Saloon was the first permanent structure built in Saint Jo in 1873 to accommodate thirsty trail drovers moving cattle along the Chisholm Trail. It maintained a boarding house upstairs. It now serves as a museum depicting the history of Saint Jo and the Chisholm Trail.
Physical Address is 100 Main St, Saint Jo, Tx. Mailing address is PO Box 518, Saint Jo, TX 76265.
Established in 1982, the Sid Richardson Museum features paintings by Frederic Remington and Charles M.Russell of the 19th century American West during westward expansion. The legendary Texas oilman and philanthropist, Sid W. Richardson, amassed one of the most significant private collections of Remington’s and Russell’s in the United States. In addition to works by Remington and Russell, his collection includes paintings by other “old masters” of Western art: Oscar E. Berninghaus – a founding member of the Taos Society of Artists, Charles F. Browne, Edwin W. Deming, William Gilbert Gaul, Herbert M. Herget, Frank Tenney Johnson, William R. Leigh, Peter Moran and Charles Schreyvogel. Admission is free to the museum, which offers free tours and public education programs for children/families, teens and adults. The Museum Store has unique Western-themed items. Open daily except for major holidays.